Richard Wagner – Tristan und Isolde – do we know everything?

Posted on May 22, 2013

0


Today I listened to Wagner’s Tristan and Isolde – performance of the Bayreuther Festspiele, directed and staged by Jean-Pierre Ponnelle and conducted by Daniel Barenboim. It was an overwhelming experience, music and drama brought together penetrating into the most intimate depths of human existence, a tale about light and darkness, reason and madness, I mean truth that cannot be grasped by human understanding. This artwork is bridging the gap between art and philosophy, it is romantic and modern in the same time, it speaks to the mind as well as to the heart.

Just when I finished listening, still drunk with the music I opened my computer to discover that today is the 200th anniversary of Wagner’s birth – it was a funny feeling, I mean how these coincidences work? Do you ever have the impression that we do not understand everything? If you do, than you will like to watch and listen Tristan und Isolde.

Posted in: Part 3